I read this article the other day on Huffington Post and it made me think: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/09/23-things-never-say-childfree-woman_n_3895114.html?utm_hp_ref=email_share

To preface my thoughts-I  have serious baby fever. It’s rampaging like crazy and there’s no control sometimes. I’m learning patience (because we live in a one bedroom apartment so we’re waiting until we have a little more room). So…now back to this article.  I’m only going to address the ones that I had a strong reaction to.

  1. “What a bad decision.” Seriously? Why would you EVER say this to someone? What gives you the right to judge what’s a good decision for another person. You’re not in their shoes and you don’t know what’s going on in there life. My goodness, I’m glad no one has said this to me yet. Otherwise. Well. ISSUES.
  2. “You think you’re tired? You don’t know what tired is.” Again. Judgmental as all get out. You don’t know that persons life. And even if you know them pretty well why are you diminishing their exhaustion from being over worked or whatever as less than yours, just because they don’t have children? Yes, having children, especially babies, is exhausting. It’s a different kind of tired, exacerbated by crazy hormones. But just because you have children doesn’t give you the market on being tired.
  3. Tick tock.” WHAT THE HELL?!?!?!?!?! If someone had EVER said this to me there would have been some words. Like seriously? First off, you can actually have kids later in life. I spent my 20’s partying, going to college, living from one paycheck to the next. Not exactly conducive to raising another person, when I was in the process of raising myself. Now I’ve got a steady job, I’ve done a lot of growing up. My life is much better situated to having kids. But other people are ready earlier. Really, what is with all this judgement?
  4. “You’d better hurry up and give your husband a child before he finds someone who will.” 1950’s are over. We don’t need to return. 
  5. “You don’t know what real love is.” I get that a parents love for their child is something magical. Indescribable. Totally different. But that doesn’t mean I don’t know what love is. It’s like comparing apples to oranges. 

So I know there’s probably going to be lots of responses, filled with all kinds of emotion, in response to my comments. But again. They are my opinions. And seriously it all boils down to this. Stop judging other people. Some people don’t want kids, some haven’t reached that point in their life where they feel they’re ready to bring another life into this world, some can’t have kids and end up adopting, some can’t have kids and grow into different people because of it. Everyone’s situation is different and that’s what makes life truly amazing. little-baby-cute-wallpaper

