So yesterday I went to the dentist to have two cavities filled. A few weeks ago I went to the dentist for the first time in about 12 years. It was just a cleaning but it was enough to really spike that anxiety level. I did great and was able to not have a panic attack which boded well for when they explained that I would have to come back for at least four more visits to fill all of my cavities (which was to be expected after 12 years of lapsed insurance mixed with fear keeping me from the dentist).

No one looks this happy in the dentist  chair!

No one looks this happy in the dentist chair!

 

Yesterday I was pretty anxious but was determined to do it on my own (my husband came with me to the cleaning appointment). I arrived early which was good and they were able to see me right away. I got started and was able to keep breathing and keep myself calm. Of course the head size needle they use to inject the Novocaine is pretty panic inducing but even seeing that three different times (joy) I was able to keep myself from having a panic attack.

While the dentist and her assistant were working on my cavities I was able to keep calm mainly due to the fascination of watching the two women work. It was obvious they were used to working together in tandem and had been doing so for quite some time. It was a silent ballet where the dentist would hold her hand one way and the assistant had the correct tool in her hand.

download

 

It was a perfectly choreographed dance of the hands that they had down to perfection. Smooth fluid motions from both of them led to them being quick and efficient. Nothing was dropped, the right tools were always where they needed to be when they needed to be there. Even when one of the water/air thingies insisted on giving water when the button for air was pressed the assistant was there with another tool to replace it.

It was absolutely fascinating to watch and I was very quickly enthralled. I don’t know if they even realized it, but someone who normally would have been freaking out to have two people bent over and so close to her face, with drills, needles and other sharp objects in her mouth–was calm and even heavy-lidded in sleepiness.

So I highly recommend the next time you’re in the dentist office getting work done to pay attention to the dance that goes on between the dentist and their assistant. It’s simply beautiful and amazing to watch.

Now if only my jaw didn’t ache today I would be happier about having to go back in two weeks.

