http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/daily-prompt-rick-roll/

“We know *you* are vice-free, dear Daily Post reader. But, or perhaps we should say, “butt,” others around you and in your life are riddled with vices: they smoke; they eat too much celery; they hog the covers; they can’t keep their hands out of the office candy bowl. Which vice or bad habit can you simply not abide in others?”

Everyone has vices, myself included and I’d be insane as well as a liar to pretend otherwise. And there are many vices that rub me the wrong way and induce some sort of reaction on my part.

micro-managing

Today (and yesterday) though it’s been micromanaging. Most people think of it as a pet peeve, but I see it as a vice. I’ve been micromanaged at work these past two days by someone not my boss. It’s annoying enough when your boss is constantly asking you if you’ve done this, are you doing this, where are we on this? You spend more time updating them on what you’re doing than actually getting anything done. But they’re your boss and you let it go (with some grumbling) because they’re accountable for you getting your tasks completed.

But this person is not my boss. I am not beholden to them. And their constant badgering about what’s being done about 90 different little details is making me want to scream. I’m OCD and when it comes to events (which is my area of work) I focus on all the little details and can drive others crazy making sure everything is done to perfection. So having someone micromanaging me is beyond frustrating. They’re not asking helping questions or reminding me of things I maybe wouldn’t think of. They’re asking questions about things that I JUST answered in the previous email or reminded me of things that are part of PROCESS.

I don’t understand the need to micromanage. I have a high attention to detail but once someone has already addressed something I let them go with it and  don’t badger them about it two seconds later on why it wasn’t done. That’s not a productive use of my time or their time.

Quite possibly my inability to understand micromanaging is why I think of it as such a vice. But honestly–if you have enough time in your day to hassle me about all the things that I’m doing than I’ve got some extra tasks you can take over.

rottenecard_53574126_2k2x55vdck

