Saturday morning (bright and early) I ran a 5k that was put on by Hilton Garden Inn (Fairfax) to raise money, and awareness, to stop human trafficking/slavery.

I’m starting to rack up on the number of races I’ve run and really starting to enjoy them more and more. Especially as I get more and more in shape each race seems to become “easier”. This race however–NOT EASY! The entire first mile was uphill and I was very used to a smooth flat racecourse. Not to mention my allergies were high and my allergy medicine was NOT working so getting a good deep breath was problematic. My time was still pretty good–just under 45 minutes. A littler higher than the goal I set for myself, but the goal was set before I knew anything about the HILLS.

At the end of this month I will be doing another 5k. This one called Run or Dye–and it’s a color run! I can’t wait, should be a lot of fun. This race takes place in DC starting at RFK Stadium–so I’ve got my fingers crossed for no hills!

I came to a dead stop after crossing the finish line. I was so hot and exhausted but I finished!

I came to a dead stop after crossing the finish line. I was so hot and exhausted but I finished!

