Writing 101, Day Twenty: The Things We Treasure

Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

My most prized possession is the blanket I’ve had since I was a child – and that at 30 years old still keep with me when I’m sleeping. It’s now relegated to being folded inside my pillow case. And since there’s not much left of the blanket it’s the safest place for it – getting washed once a month so that it doesn’t just fall apart completely.

I have no pictures of this blanket. Which I find amusing since it went everywhere with me. I used it as a cape and an apron. I cuddled with it on stormy nights, cold nights and pretty much through out my entire childhood. It traveled with me to grandparents homes and even spent one summer without me in Georgia. Thankfully my Grandma mailed it back to me.

I was teased about my blanket from family members because it went everywhere with me – even when I was old enough to not need it in its main function, as a security blanket. I’m still teased about it to this day. My husband gives me funny little smiles every time I gingerly take it out to be washed. He threatens to take it away from me – just to watch me squirm. But everyone who teases me about it knows.

I love that blanket. It represents my childhood and the imagination that I gained as a child. I used its pink softness as a cape, pillow and apron all in one day. It was the best toy, the best friend an only child could have. I keep it close to remind me of those days and to keep my innocence and imagination alive.

I used to think that when I was a parent I would share this blanket with my children. Then of course I realized the blanket is so well-loved that it would fall apart very quickly. So I’ve decided that I will get my children their own special blanket. To build forts with, or just to keep on their bed. Either way I hope that one day, many years from now, my children will have a blanket tucked away somewhere that holds fond memories of when they were young.

Follow To Write With a Broken Pencil is Pointless on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 677 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,395 hits

Recent Posts

Blogs I Follow

Leave a Reply

A.C. Stark

Holding The Planet to Reason, Not Ransom

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

lawnviews

A guide to legal awareness

PLEXIUS

Imagination is the new Desperation

TwoIsTheNewOne

EAT BLOG SLEEP

