Seriously – the timing on when I read certain blogs is absolutely mind boggling! This came at just the right time! KISMET!

Writer’s almost always have some reason they tell themselves on why they’re not a “real” writer. And whether that reason came from outside influences, inside our own brains, or a combination of both it’s still there. And it’s what we use to explain why we fail or we rejected or why we won’t even bother trying!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 8.07.57 AM

For many writers (me included), we don’t start off with the confidence to yell to the world, “I’m going to be a professional author!” Heck, I wrote a 178,000 word “novel” and still didn’t believe I was a writer. Later, I had over a year and a half of consistent blogging under my belt, multiple short stories, and newbie novels that had been at least good enough to win prestigious contests and yet….

I was not a “real writer.”

Schrödinger Writer? If you put a writer in an office at a keyboard, is the writer alive or dead (real or fake) until the book is published?

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 7.59.29 AM

We’ve Come a LONG Way, Baby

The literary landscape has shifted dramatically. More avenues of publishing have opened and become appealing, thus this silly question of, “Are we a real writer?” holds far less power. Believe it or not, when I began blogging, I dedicated…

View original post 1,180 more words

