Last night was the first time in the 12 days I had been participating in NaNo that I wrote OVER 2,000 words! It really got me excited. Excited enough to make the short-term goal of writing 2,200 words today, tomorrow and Saturday – which would put me at 30,000 words total during the month of November!

NaNoWriMo has really helped to emphasize the importance of goals. We all have that dream goal – finishing a novel, publishing a novel. That big huge seemingly unattainable goal. Thanks to NaNo that goal seems a lot less unattainable. I make daily goals, weekly goals and slowly but surely I realize that the larger goal is that much closer.

Goals Concept

 

This is about the time in NaNo when I’ve seen a lot of other writers start to panic. They don’t have enough words. They don’t have any direction. I encourage my fellow writers to just make small daily goals, to help you reach your slightly larger weekly goals. Before you know it you’ll be writing over those goals and surpassing them with ease. Even if you don’t write 50,000 words in one month it’s okay. Because you wrote something, you worked on that dream.

That’s been one of the most inspiring things about NaNoWriMo – it really brings into focus that lifelong goal I’ve had of becoming a published author. It’s seems like it’s something I might actually be able to do…and not just in a few years, but next year. I could publish my novel next year!

nanowrimo

I refuse to think about all the editing I have to do between now and then.

