The past few days I was staying at my parents. I came home this afternoon – which was a just under two-hour drive. It was a nice simple drive because it was the middle of the day so those who were at work were already there, and with the blizzard that had been predicted (of which we saw nothing) a lot of places were closed or short-staffed. It was a very simple drive.

I was prepared for it to be a drive of me singing at the top of my lungs. And most of it was. Then all of a sudden in a burst of inspiration while thinking about the last scene that I had been editing a character sprang into my mind. A minor character but someone who my main character needed to meet. He was literally just sitting there in my head like he was waiting for me to notice him. He gave me his name, Osiris, and everything about who he was and what wisdom he had to impart to my main character.

Then for the rest of the drive he, of course, wouldn’t shut up. He was pretty determined that I not forget him. It was almost like when I had the dream that brought my novel into being. It just kept replaying in my head over and over, reminding me that if I didn’t get it out of my head it was going to just keep repeating in the most annoying way possible.

The only way I can describe it is like when you get a song stuck in your head. You keep singing it or humming it. You find yourself dancing to it and getting it stuck in others head. Then somehow you end up actually hearing the song, on the radio or a TV show or something. Then the song is gone. It just leaves your head.

That’s what it’s like for me when I get a story idea or a character. They hang around in my head like a stuck song, just waiting for me to sit down and write them out of my head and into their reality. On that note, I’m off to make sure Osiris gets his wisdom imparted!

stuck-inside-your-head

