I assume others know the feelings of want. I can’t imagine that I am the only one.

The only one who has that tingle in their bones because they’ve crossed that invisible line. That line we all know is there. It’s a proud line between want and need. It loves it’s invisibilty, it mocks those who stands near. You miss how it slides back forcing you to suddenly believe that if you don’t drink that coke you will die of thirst.

I can’t be the only one who silently cries alone when she realizes that want she’s so desperate about isn’t going to happen. That patience is a virtue created over a excruciating length of time as you wait. The one who squashes so many rude comments thick with the emerald darkness of jealousy.

I know the difference between need and want. I know what greed is and how it can twist the mind, taint the heart and break a person down. I know I’m not alone in these feelings of inadequacy. I am certainly not naive enough to think there aren’t people much worse off than I.

I privately deal with my feelings and the emotion of want taking over all intelligent thought. I keep a smile on my face and head held high.

None of that stops me from sometimes getting lost and forgetting the fact that I won’t die from lack of a want.

