Being pregnant has many ups and downs. It’s awesome and horrible all at the same time.

One of the more overwhelming parts has been all of the advice every person I come into contact with (who knows that I’m pregnant) needs to impart. It doesn’t matter if that person is male or female, has children or not, they all have some opinion, advice or words of wisdom when it comes to your pregnancy that they NEED to share with you, RIGHT THAT MOMENT.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes the advice is helpful, the words of wisdom are calming and the opinions are generally pretty hilarious. But if you combine all that advice – which nine times out of ten isn’t asked for but just offered up on a silver platter – with an overabundance of hormones…well let’s just say it’s a very close thing that I haven’t punched anyone.

I don’t even want to imagine what it’s going to be like once my belly is more prominent – at the point where people feel more confidant that I’m actually pregnant and not just overweight. They’re not only going to want to give me advice – but it’s not just going to be coming from friends, family, coworkers and people I know. It’s going to come from complete strangers and with the added bonus of an invasion of personal space as they reach to touch the baby bump.

Where did our society learn that it’s ok to randomly reach out and touch, pat or rub someone’s stomach just because there happens to be a human growing inside? You can’t reach the baby from there – and why in the world would I want random strangers reaching out and patting my kid in the first place? So let’s hope I can swallow the hormonal reaction and not punch strangers in the store when they reach for my belly.

I love being pregnant – I really do – but it sure does make others treat you very strangely – against the grain most of the time. I have a hard time wrapping my brain around that.

maternity_tshirt_touch_my_bellypunch_your_face

