Yesterday was the first day of November. Yesterday was the first day of NaNoWriMo. Guess what I forgot to do yesterday?

It’s day two and I’m already 1667 words behind. But I’m not going to let that get to me. Not this year. This year it isn’t about winning NaNo. Last year I was all about finishing my novel and I knew that the 50,000 words in a month was just the impetus I needed to do that. By the end of November I was proven correct – it was the perfect goal!

This year it’s not the same. This year life is a little different. Okay – a LOT different, because let me tell you being pregnant is not like everyday normalcy. But my ultimate goal is still the same – to self-publish my novel. So this year I’m using NaNo to continue reaching towards that major goal.

Not by making sure I reach the 1,667 words a day needed to reach 50,000 words during the month of November. But to edit, to rewrite, to flesh out, to IMPROVE the first draft I wrote last year and have hardly touched since.

I’ve got ideas of other stories that need telling. I’ve written them down, I’ve kept them safe. But this month I need to focus on The Judas Tree and bringing Gia and Lo into reality – making their story something I’m ready to share with the world.

So tonight, among the usual chores, the newly self-imposed regime of at least 15 minutes of yoga, and relaxing from working eight hours I will sit down and write/edit. If it’s just for half an hour, that’s half an hour more than I did yesterday and that alone means I’m winning.

It would be awesome if I could use the 300 words in this post to count towards my daily total though! Print

