Thank’s to my company closing the office in recognition of Veteran’s Day I have had some extra time today…time that I feel I put to good use.

Of course I started the day with a trip to the doctor’s, which is starting to become very routine thanks to being pregnant. Today it was for a fetal echo where I spent basically forty-five minutes listening to Tadpole’s strong heartbeat. I also was able to see the blood flow through each of her four distinct chambers. So amazing that they a machine can see through my belly and through her chest and into her heart.

Afterwards I had planned to sit in Panera Bread and pound out some words for NaNoWriMo. At the beginning of today I was 18,337 words behind. I’m pretty sure I’m not going to be able to win NaNo this year. Thankfully that’s not why I decided to participate in NaNo this year. This year it’s to force away the excuses of life, work and being pregnant and get to writing. Since last NaNo I’ve only done some minor editing on my novel. I spent most of January and February of this year working hard on it. Since then that drive to edit and get it the way I want it has faded to almost non-existent.

So I’m using NaNo to write. To force my muse to the service. I want to make the tone of my novel darker, more mature. I feel so far – only 6,244 words in – that I’m succeeded at that. Yes it’s taking me longer and I am actually doing some editing while I move forward but I’m still writing. I’m still getting that dream to come alive to me once more.

I’m hoping that the rest of November I can take advantage of any extra time I carve out and put more word down. Trying to write a blog post a day excluding the weekends has really helped to keep that momentum going forward. Granted that means that there are words I’m typing that aren’t for the novel and aren’t being counted for NaNo but I’m writing and isn’t that what really matters.

What do all writer’s have in common? They write!

Print

