I have been on the what I guess you could say is the opposite of this. As a shy quiet white girl it was always assumed I was super smart. And assumed that I would automatically help everyone with their homework, papers and tests. It was painful enough being judged like that this – I don’t even want to imagine having all my hard work invalidated simply because of how I looked or what my last name was.

This professor – someone who is supposed to be lifting their student up in the name of education – is decided to judge and smash down a student for no reason other than preconceived notions about who they believe that student to be based solely on their last name and looks. It’s despicable and I wish I could say unbelievable.

I recognize the white privilege I experience on a a daily basis – and it makes me cry that much harder for those who experience the opposite. I wish this intelligent woman all the best and hope this experience doesn’t hold her back from striving to reach her goals and aspirations.

Go Tiffany! And this professor needs a brain check, a reality check and a loss in income!

TIFFANY MARTÍNEZ

My name is Tiffany Martínez. As a McNair Fellow and student scholar, I’ve presented at national conferences in San Francisco, San Diego, and Miami. I have crafted a critical reflection piece that was published in a peer-reviewed journal managed by the Pell Institute for the Study of Higher Education and Council for Opportunity in Education. I have consistently juggled at least two jobs and maintained the status of a full-time student and Dean’s list recipient since my first year at Suffolk University. I have used this past summer to supervise a teen girls empower program and craft a thirty page intensive research project funded by the federal government. As a first generation college student, first generation U.S. citizen, and aspiring professor I have confronted a number of obstacles in order to earn every accomplishment and award I have accumulated. In the face of struggle, I have persevered and continuously produced…

View original post 948 more words

